What Did You Do?

A powerful poem by Drew Dellinger:

It’s 3:23 in the morning and I’m awake, because my great-great-grandchildren won’t let me sleep.

My great-great-grandchildren ask me in dreams “What did you do whilst the planet was plundered?

What did you do when The Earth was unravelling?

Surely you did something when the seasons started failing, as the mammals, reptiles and birds were all dying.

Did you fill the streets with protest when democracy was stolen?

What did you do, once you knew.”

Leave a Reply

