Walking in the woods and spoon carving

Today, we went for a walk in some local woods. It was intentional as part of my personal re-wilding to experience something more ‘natural’ and yet fairly close to home. We arrived later afternoon, which was perfect as there were only a few people around.

The woods are managed by Warwickshire Wildlife Trust, so perhaps it’s not really ‘wild’, but it’s the closest I can get within a few minutes of home.

On the woodland floor, I found a branch which I hope could be carved into a spoon. I brought it home and managed to split the branch along it’s length and after some examination, was able to work out the best way a spoon would fit.

I don’t know when I’ll get the time to finish it, but I’m eager to progress this as one of my ambitions is to carve a spoon from green wood…

Leave a Reply

