Recently, I was extremely priviledged to attend a Sunday service at a Buddhist temple. I was made very welcome and told I could join in as much or as little as I wished. The service lasted around an hour and included chanting, singing, a walking meditation and much more.

One of the things talked about was how, as a Buddhist, you attain to be like the Buddha, who was so full of love that there was no room for hate or jealously or other negative emotions. What a wonderful thought!

Afterwards, we had tea and biscuits and chatted. These people were beautiful and gentle people who were also full of love and I was so grateful for their time, affection and help.

But, in amongst it all, I felt like I was in a foreign land. Buddhism is a beautiful religion, but it is an Eastern religion and doesn’t try to hide that in any way. For some people, that might be significant part of what being a Buddhist is all about, but for me, I was struggling to get a deep connection, perhaps because it is not from my land, my roots, my place.

I’m so glad I went – to have had that experience was brilliant, but I’m also glad I went because it made me realise that my spirituality comes from the Earth around me. Here in Britain and in Ireland where my ancestors are from.

And so it is with renewed enthusiasm and connection I continue my studies and practice of Druidry. /|\

P1030258

 

Leave a Reply

